Press Releases

ISB Celebrates its 2018 Graduation Day with Dr K Radhakrishnan

ISB Celebrates its 2018 Graduation Day with Dr K Radhakrishnan
With Around Thousand More Graduates, ISB’s Alumni Network Spreading Strong 27 International Students Are Part of the Graduating Class
Hyderabad, April 06, 2018: The Indian School of Business (ISB) today welcomed Dr K Radhakrishnan, Former Director, ISRO, gracing the occasion as the Chief Guest at Graduation Day 2018 held today at the Hyderabad campus.
Sharing his views, Dr K Radhakrishnan emphasised on the advent of disruptive technologies that calls for unprecedented management solutions for the future. He asked the students to stay connected with developments in space discovery since “The humankind's aspiration for habitat engagement beyond this globe could become a reality within next 40-50 years. That would be your larger world a few decades from now when you are in the prime of your professional life.” He also highlighted the importance of keeping an open mind and learning from all, while dealing with the inherent differences.”
Sharing his experiences with the graduating students, Harish Manwani, the newly appointed Chairman of the ISB Executive Board said, “The current age managers are required to have entrepreneurial capabilities, as a lot of space is created through disruption in technology and economy.” Other Board Members participated in the Graduation Day proceedings, in addition to the students, families, faculty, alumni, staff and other dignitaries.
Earlier, Professor Rajendra Srivastava, Dean, ISB, welcomed the gathering and advising the students, said “Each one of you is unique and hence do not try to live someone else’s life and do not let others’ opinions drown down your inner voice. Challenge status quo and while being a good manager is the basic requirement, being a good leader is what ultimately matters.”
Graduation 2018 also marked the passing out of close to 1000 students from the ISB, 602 of PGP Class of 2018 from the Hyderabad campus, 55 of PGPMAX Class of 2017. With this, the ISB alumni network now expands close to 9600 with presence from different parts of the world.
The graduation day commenced with the ceremonial procession led by the Dean. The School also celebrated the accomplishments of its students and gave away awards to students who excelled in academics, extra-curricular activities and those who had demonstrated exemplary leadership skills throughout the year and to the best faculty. The list of awards for this year is appended below.
The celebrations came to a close with the ceremonial hat toss marking the finale’ of the Graduation day 2018. The Graduation Ceremony at Mohali will be held on April 08, 2018.
Awards (Hyderabad Campus):
The Ceremony saw many awards and accolades given to faculty and students.
ISB Scholar of Excellence
Bhawarth Sangwan, Chinmay Sahoo and Atul Shrimal from the PGP Class of 2018 were given the ISB Scholar of Excellence Award. Dimple Jacob Mathews was awarded with the PGPMAX 2017 Scholar of Excellence. The ISB Scholar of Excellence is awarded in recognition of outstanding academic performance throughout the year.
Chairman’s All Rounder Award
The Chairman’s All Rounder award was given to Nikita Dawda from the PGP Class of 2018 who had demonstrated exceptional all round leadership skills through the year. In addition, the ‘ISB Young Leaders’ and ‘ISB Torchbearer’ awards were given to students who have demonstrated leadership skills, and all round excellence through the year.
ISB-Parmeshwar Godrej Award
Anumeha Srivastava from the PGP Class of 2018 was awarded the Exemplary Woman Student which has been announced from this year.
The Best Club awards were given to Business Technology Club and Manufacturing & Operations Club (Professional Club) and the Sports Club (Social Club).
Dean’s List
The Dean’s List comprises students who make it to the top ten percentile of the Class for their academic accomplishments. This year a total of 92 students were announced combining both the campuses.
Professor of the year
Students also voted for their favorite faculty for the year through the Professor of the Year awards. Professor Sarang Deo was given “Professor of the Year Award for Core Courses” and Professor Piyush Kumar was awarded with the “Professor of the Year for Elective Courses for PGP Class of 2018.” Professor Prashant Kale was given the “Professor of the Year for PGPMAX Class of 2017.”
Academic Associate of the year for PGP and PGPMAX awards were also given by students through preferential nominations for supporting students in their learning through out the year.
The Mohali campus will host the Graduation Day of the PGP Class of 2018 (Mohali Campus) and PGP MFAB Class of 2017 on April 08, 2018. 
Please visit our Graduation Day website for more pictures -
About Indian School of Business:
Indian School of Business (ISB) is a global Business school offering world-class management education across its two campuses – Hyderabad and Mohali. The School has grown at a rapid pace over the sixteen years since its inception and already has several notable accomplishments to its credit – it is the youngest school ever to consistently rank among the top Global MBA programmes, one among the select 100 global B-schools to have AACSB and EQUIS accreditation, one of the largest providers of Executive Education in Asia, and the most research-productive Indian management institution. A vibrant pool of research-oriented resident faculty, strong academic associations with leading global B-schools and the backing of an influential Board, have helped the ISB fast emerge as a premier global Business school in the emerging markets. For details visit