ISB Updates

Annual Summer Research Conference in Finance

The Centre for Analytical Finance (CAF) at the Indian School of Business (ISB) organised its 11th annual flagship Summer Research Conference in Finance from July 31 – August 1, 2014 at the Hyderabad campus of the School. The annual colloquium is regarded internationally as a premier finance research conference.
With the aim of bringing together opinion leaders, academics, practitioners and regulators – to share knowledge and identify strategic issues related to all areas of finance, especially finance reforms and other developments in the emerging economies, the theme for this year’s conference was “Recent Advances in Corporate Finance”. The conference was attended by over 50 leading policy makers, practitioners, donors, academics and other stakeholders.
The conference began with a reception for the participants on the evening of July 30. This was followed by paper presentations by the participants on various topics. The papers presented were divided across six sessions and covered key areas of finance including ‘Default Risk and Corporate Finance’, ‘Investor Activism’, ‘Banking’, ‘Governance’, ‘Capital Structure and Incentives’ and ‘Emerging Markets’. Professor Laura Starks, Charles E and Sara M Seay Regents Chair; Director of AIM Investment Center, University of Texas, Austin and CAF Academic Fellow 2014‚Äč, delivered the keynote address at the conference.
At the end of the conference, the National Stock Exchange (NSE) Best Paper Award worth US$ 5000 which is generously funded by the NSE for the best paper presented was conferred upon Martin Kanz and Xavier Gine of the World Bank. Their paper titled “The Economic Effects of a Borrower Bailout: Evidence from an Emerging Market” was adjudged the best by the award committee comprising of Professors Krishna Ramaswamy (The Wharton School), N R Prabhala (University of Maryland) and Laura Starks. An audience poll was also conducted with inputs from ISB faculty including Professors Shashwat Alok, Nitin Kumar and Prachi Deuskar, who helped in the selection of the best paper award.